Copy text from MS_Office Powerpoint or Word

Hello all, as a Devonthink 3 newbie I have a question I almost don’t dare to ask.
After importing Powerpoint or Word-Files into DT3, I want to copy certain text clips from either PP or Word-Documents and paste them into my word processor. But I’m not able to select any text, not to mention copy it. Cursor does not change from arrow to select bar, right-click is not possible either.
When I try the same procedure with imported PDF files, it works flawlessly. Am I missing something?
Thanks
marty

These file formats are displayed via Quick Look which doesn’t support this unfortunately. At least in case of Word you can switch to an alternate view (see navigation bar or menu View) which supports this.

Okay, thanks. Does that mean that Powerpoint files are not even searchable?

As long as they’re compatible to Spotlight’s plugin for MS Office documents they are usually searchable.

Well, unfortunately in my case it does not work. I easily find the keywords I am searching via spotlight (MacOS 10.13.4), but not in DT3. Just out of interest - what are the thoughts behind excluding probably the most used presentation software in the world from being accessable with DT?
It’s a little bit frustrating since I acquired DT3 as a tool to gather and process information (which is what DT is praised for…), but in my profession this information often comes as Powerpoint presentation (from external sources, so I cannot change that).
Which finally means the workflow I was planning to establish obviously doesn’t work at all. Am I the only one needing to cope with Powerpoint? Any ideas how to work around this? Thanks for any contribution.

what are the thoughts behind excluding probably the most used presentation software in the world from being accessable with DT?

There is no exclusion.
Powerpoint files can be imported and viewed in DEVONthink.
If the slides have text, i.e., not just graphics containing text, they are also searchable.