CSS: Styling for Printing

Dear DT users,

I’m not a programmer, but thanks to the posts graciously written by @chrillek (in particular CSS for Markdown — the series) and to the W3 and MDN websites, I’ve managed to write a CSS that previews markdown files in DT the way I like it.

There’s one aspect of the CSS I’ve been struggling with, though, and that’s the printing. Indeed, I cannot seem to be able to define global margins for printing: they seem fine in the first page, but they are smaller in the successive ones. I’m therefore wondering whether any of you could be so kind as to point me in the right direction.

The code I used to specify margins for printing is the following:

@page { size: letter portrait; margin: 1in; }

The reason I’d like to style for printing is that by printing to PDF I’d be able to share documents formatted the way I like it. I’m of course open to suggestions if you think there’s a better way, or an easier one, to generate a PDF that is formatted like the markdown preview. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,
Enrico

P.S. I wanted to upload the whole CSS file in case it helped diagnose the problem, but for some reason when I try to do that all my .css files are grayed out and therefore unavailable for selection.

Short answer: CSS Paged Media (@page) | Can I use... Support tables for HTML5, CSS3, etc and 85062 – Support CSS 3 Paged Media Margin Boxes

Longer answer: Assuming that you print your MD to PDF from within DT, the lack of Webkit’s support for the @page rule is probably biting you.

Longest answer: Set up DT so that it refers to the CSS for Markdown with an external path (/Users/you/somewhere/your.css) instead of an x-devonthink-item location. Or include it verbatim at the top of your Markdown. After that, convert the MD to HTML in DEVONthink (context menu). Open the new HTML file in Chrome and print from there. Firefox is, unfortunately, no use here either as it doesn’t support the size parameter.