Data sheet from folder structure

Hello everyone,

I am new to DevonThink and currently playing around with the trial version. Before buying it I would love to hear from someone more experienced, to make sure it’ll be possible to do what I have in mind.

I want to use DevonThink to manage a large library of recordings from my research, including video, audio, and transcription files (several different formats). Currently the data is organized in a folder structure, and I want to maintain the structure as is but use DT to make the data more accessible, and add metadata, tags, and create temporary groups for files I am working on.

This is how the structure looks like.

YYYY-MM-DD
YYYY-MM-DD_hh.mm.ss
YYYY-MM-DD_hh.mm.ss.mov
YYYY-MM-DD_hh.mm.ss.wav
YYYY-MM-DD_hh.mm.ss.eaf
YYYY-MM-DD_hh.mm.ss.pfsx
YYYY-MM-DD_hh.mm.ss.tbt
and potentially some other files

YYYY-MM-DD_hh-mm-ss is a folder which represents a “session”, which on the disk contains all the media files. Not all sessions have all 5 files, some might have only a video some might only have audio; the other files are transcription or settings files, they are not present in all session folders.