Desperate call for usage suggestion

Dear all,

I am completely new to DEVONthink and the community and I would like to ask for any helpful suggestion on how to start using DEVONthink. I have done my research and read through a lot of the documentation and tips and tricks from various pages online. However I still struggle to find a place in my workflows for this software. Here is what I am looking for:

1. Extensive file management: All of us know this. Tons of files in tons of folders and one’s digital life just turns into making complex folder structures. I imagined DEVONthink as a “super-finder”, that would allow me to use tags, advanced search features and perhaps automatically generated folder structures, while maintaining its database AND my files in the file system in sync. Is there a way to do this? I did not find any. Apparently, I misunderstood the way DEVONthink handles aliases. Since aliases remember the original file wherever it has moved (apart from symlinks), I expected that if I added aliases into the database, I would have the ability to move the file in the filesystem as well as in the database. Other than that I am not really sure how to use DEVONthink as a file manager, since the mess on my hard drive will remain if I sort files in DEVONthink?

I have already given up managing files in various parts of my digital life, like photos. There I do not need separate file management, since that is handled by iPhoto. I do not need media management since that is handled by iTunes. Given the fact DEVONthink behaves, I can only imagine using it as an updated list of all my photos, MP3s or movies. Any other suggestions here?