DEVONthink 3.5 - Using Smart Rules to extract date field + rename + file pdf

Hello DEVONthink users,

I’m relatively new to DEVONthink, and am struggling to set up automations to properly handle financial statements.

I’ve been using Hazel to handle this automation for the past 5+ years, and am stuck with reproducing the following workflow using Smart Rules in DEVONthink 3.5:

1. Automatically OCR all incoming PDFs (no issues; implemented in Global Inbox).
  2. Extract a desired date field from the entire financial statement (e.g. extract 14 May 2020).
  3. Coerce extracted date field into “YYYYMM” format (i.e. 202005).
  4. Ensure PDF contains specific text fields (e.g. name of financial institution, account name).
  5. Rename file using “YYYYMM - Custom File Name.pdf”.
  6. File processed PDF into the right location in the database.

I suppose I can “simplify” the above workflow by “Classifying Document”, but I still need the file name of the PDF to be automatically renamed to “YYYYMM - Custom File Name.pdf” upon ingestion.

I searched the forums, and most workarounds seem to be AppleScript heavy, or they aren’t on DEVONthink 3.5. :confused:

Thus, reaching out for some help from the community (note: I’m not a highly technical user).

Thank you,
Alvin

Appendix - Existing Smart Rule Under Development

Appendix - Sharing Existing Hazel Workflow

1. Overall Hazel Rule + Date Extraction

2. Date Coercion

1 Like

4. Ensure PDF contains specific text fields (e.g. name of financial institution, account name).
5. Rename file using “YYYYMM - Custom File Name.pdf”.

I don’t see where you’re using these steps, especially Custom File Name.

Here is an example that queries based on the Invoice number (since that’s the only exposed valued). Obviously, you could use “Account No.” and all or part of the actual number.

This returns 202005.

Sorry Jim, I wasn’t being sufficiently precise.