Devonthink and Bookends (and possibly Mellel)

OK, so I’ve been using DTPO for a few months now, cleaning out and scanning old paper files. When I come across a journal article, I want to add it to my Bookends DB at the same time, and attach the .pdf file to the Bookends record.

I also work with two computers, one at work and one at home.

What’s the best way to set up the whole enterprise so that

1. I don’t have to duplicate article files for each program
  2. I can share one database both at work and at home (here, I’m thinking of a thumb drive, with backups routinely to both home and work machines).

Is there any tutorial to teach this sort of thing? (I wish there were a locally-offered or even web-based class, say for $50 or so, that would teach me all the ins and outs of the program and allow me to pose questions in real time…)

Thanks in advance!

Charles Hogg, Dept. of Philosophy
Grand Valley State University

Index the folder where you store your bookends PDF files.

I’m thinking about this too.
It seems sensible to put as much as possible into DTPO to get the maximum benefit, so I was thinking of storing the pdfs directly in DTPO, annotating/highlighting them there, and then pasting a hyperlink in the notes field of the bookends record - i.e. citations only in bookends.
Also some people suggested DTPO has better annotation facilities. And the bookends people stated somewhere on their blog that full featured annotation was not a priority for them, many people seem to use other apps for annotations.
I guess another way would be to specify a DTPO database location (the actual file location) as the attachments folder in bookends, if this is possible.

I have indexed the Bookends PDF folder into Devonthink, it works nice. Another option is to link the PDFs to DTPO, but it is much easier to index the folder where you store the PDFs.