Devonthink and GettingThingsDone?

It had to happen sooner or later…

Many of you may recently have noticed increased chatter in the blogosphere regarding various implementations of David Allen’s Getting Things Done (GTD) planning system. (if you haven’t http://merlin.blogs.com/43folders/ is as good a place as any to start)

Though Life Balance & Tinderbox (which I also own) currently seem to be the applications of choice for GTD on the mac, I’m starting to think that DT might be better for those of us who deal with a lot of documents and web-based research.

Any one else out there interested in starting a thread on DT’s GTD potential?

I’ll take that bait.

I’m fairly new to GTD, though I saw a few videos of Allen and liked what I saw enough to post about it on this forum in Janaury (see the topic: "DEVONthink as a collection tool" here in Usage Scenarios).

Having now read the entire GTD, I’m working on implementing some or most of the ideas.  Paper management isn’t a big issue for me, but organizing and responding to incoming email, projects, reference, action items defines my work life.

Right now, I’m using Mail.app, CP Notebook, Finder, and DT PE/Pro to manage the tsunami.  I use Notebook to list and check-off "the next action," whether originated out of a project list, phone/voice mail, or email that I can’t immediately respond to.

I use DT and Finder as repositories for meeting notes, project files, reference, and "someday/maybe" ideas.  (E.g. in DT I have a group called "Buy Me."  But then again, I also have an Amazon wish list that I use for the same purpose.   :frowning: )