DEVONthink + Endnote Indexing = Wow

I’m an academic researcher. I’ve been using DEVONthink since the start of the year and really enjoying it.

I use it for lots of notetaking, saving news articles, storing and analyzing original research (images, pdfs, etc), legal research, etc. It was always a question for me how to incorporate academic literature that I keep in Endnote. I finally got around to trying out DEVONthink’s indexing function this morning to see if that would speed up keyword searches and linking ideas. I indexed Endnote’s “PDF” file that holds all of the actual PDFs.

I was really impressed how fast DEVONthink indexed the whole thing (~5,000 articles). It’s just astounding the speed and ease now of searching everything (like, everything everything) and viewing DEVONthink’s connections between documents.

Can’t believe I didn’t do this sooner! If you’re a researcher trying to figure out how to integrate lots of original notes and source material in DT with structured citations from a citation manager without blowing up the size of your DT, this method seems to work really well.

4 Likes

Thanks so much for the generous comments. They’re very appreciated. :blush:

1 Like

Hi there, I read this post with interest… I too am using DT3 to support my academic studies having just started on a new course. I have access to Endnote for free, so will intend to go with that. However, I have already massed lots of articles in DT3 as I am familiar with the app, whereas am not with EN.

So, to store in EN and index in DT3 and or to store in DT3 and link from EN records… which is the best and what are the things to look out for…? I use DTTG actively as well if that makes a difference? What will DT3 give me that EN doesn’t? Welcome perspectives before I head off full steam! Thanks.

1 Like