DevonThink + Papers (Abstracts Only)

At the moment I’m using DevonThink and Mekentosj’s amazing program Papers to keep my academic papers organized and searchable by indexing the folder that Papers uses to store both the pdf’s and the index files of its database. The main problem I am having, however, stems from the snippet philosophy of Steven Johnson that I built my DT database around. Essentially, I don’t want my DT database to be cluttered with full pdf’s because that’s just too much information to be useful.

What I would like, ideally, is a way to index just the abstracts of the papers (where available). I have no AppleScript experience, but I feel like it is feasible considering Papers pulls abstracts from academic search engines and matches them to the pdf - attaching them so they appear in the inspector each time a specific paper is highlighted. I’m wondering if somebody has done this, or can point me in the right direction? There must be some variable Papers stores abstracts in for each pdf that can be mined via an indexing script from DT.

Papers is completely unscriptable. So, unfortunately, there is no easy way to do what you want (or at least, none that I can see).

We should probably all send notes to Mekentosj to request the provision of an Applescript library …

In the meanwhile, although the application is unscriptable, the Sqlite data files can be read, and I have sketched a rough draft of a Papers 2 to DevonThink script which sends summaries and notes from the Papers 2 database to the currently selected folder in DEVONthink 2.

(It uses the same customizable CSS formatting as the Sente 2 DevonThink and Skim to DevonThink scripts).

In addition to the abstract and any notes, Ver 0.16 also appends a standard Papers2 citekey, e.g. {Walton:2005uv} to facilitate using the DEVONthink notes when drafting a paper.

houthakker,