Document Managing System with DevonThink Pro

as a database developer, I got a customer who needs a document managing software for digitized paper-doc’s (besides of the Database-Solution)

Proces goes as follows:

• office creates (paper-) outputs of documents of every kind
  • these docs are processed (i.e. sent to customers (invoices, offers, correspondance, etc.)
  • afterwards, these documents were scanned by a ‘ScanBlackboxMachine’ by Canon (maybe WIN-based, maybe UNIX/Linux, don’t know at the moment)

then, the doc’s should be available by a authorized group of users

I’m thinking about DevonThink Pro for this management

in general: Do You have experience here?

I would be interested to hear if/how you use DT Pro for document version control.

Thanks,
/Markus.

well, I’m using DT as a ‘sccs’ system - and I created rtf’s for each file ‘captured’ by DT. Data has to be entered manually - but if the app’ You’re developing with doesn’t suppport anything else, it’s the best solution… (i.e. Filemaker…)

Launching files is very easy, maybe there’s an automator action to complete the ‘outbinding’ process - but I didn’t investigate in automator (got the feeling that it’s not enough…)

What I’m asking for in this post is ‘for a bigger solution’. My customer want’s to track/freeze his whole accounting by scanning/ocr paper-data, copying this so gathered data on a separate disk…
… and then, maybe using DT

would be happy if someone from the staff could give some ideas/hints here

Maybe this is a stupid question but why not just skip paper altogether and go totally digital from the beginning? Are you saving as .pdf files (because Acrobat 7 does a great job of OCR on .pdfs).

ChemBob

sorry - not the subject here.

Isn’t there anybody from devontechnologies around here?? If there was a phone-number on the homepage, I would have called them…

please accept that this workflow is based on internal discussions by my customers - I can’t make decisions…

:frowning: