DT-internal names in list for indexed files?

Greetings – I am quite new to DT, but here is what I would like to do:

I am not at this point in a DT-only world. In particular, I have a large library of PDF files (in EagleFiler). What I would like to do is to index all of the PDF files so that I can search them within DT.

In EagleFiler, I have metadata for all of these, with the paper’s title and author information. I leave the file-internal metadata (which is often wrong, or gives the journal editor’s name, or whatever) untouched.

When I index these in DT, I seem only to be able to see the filename as the “Name” and any columns I choose to view show me the metadata from the original file. Of course, DT can’t detect my EagleFiler metadata, but what I want to be able to do is at least be able to call the file whatever I want (e.g., Author Year Title) in the DT lists. Changing the filename isn’t an option, because the PDFs are still within EagleFiler’s library and they’d get lost/disassociated if the filename changes. Importing them into the DT database also isn’t really an option because this is nearly 10GB of material.

Ideally, there would be a field that I could choose to display instead of Name (if Name must be filename, which it appears from my forum searching that it does), with only a DT-internal life, so I can use it as a kind of alias name to this file.

Long term, I have the idea that I’d use an Applescript pathway to transfer the EagleFiler metadata into DT—but only if there is someplace I can put it.