DT Pro, Office, and other PIMs: a loving criticism

The following was just posted on a website discussing various PIM’s on the Mac. To see the criticisms I refer to, please see the post at Musings From Mars. And I am posting it here, and not on one of the threads about other apps, because it is feedback, ultimately.

I’m a die-hard DEVONthink Pro user. The AI features, its abilities to manipulate text, and interact with the greater mac ecosystem it lives in are wonderful (think scriptability like no other, services, automator). I have come to rely upon it exclusively for my pdf storage (of published articles and my own finished research/writings), my reading/research notes primarily (I’m a grad student who has LOTS of both), and for web-clippings secondarily. I have about 5 databases.