DT Pro with different languages

Hi!

I’m completely new to the program and eager to start my own database. I’m a bit confused, however, about the use of Devonthink with entries in different languages (mostly German and English in about the same frequency). I found a post which recommends to start the database with one language, do manual classification and then gradually add other languages. At least that’s what I understood. This would be really hard for me, since all my material is in both languages. I’m sure most of the users collect information in more than one language. My problem might arise from a poor understanding of the program. For the database there might be no such thing as “German” or “English”, only strings of text. But for a human it’s hard to understand that you might be able to use the program’s semantic analysing features in different languages. Can you give any recommendation from your experience? Thanks a lot!

Birgitt

Hi Birgitt,

good point. I live in at least three languages and collect about the same topics mainly in Japanese, English and German.

Yet I cannot cope with the speed my collection is growing, so I just drag stuff into folders not knowing about how DT would classify. Recently I started using the Classify button from time to time, it works astonishingly, but of course, “See also” never shows related Japanese documents to an English document.

I am afraid we have to live with these insufficiencies unless indices are included which show which words have to be treated as identical in different languages. But as far as I understand the developers, they do not plan to do so.

With best wishes to all those who do not accept a monolingual desert,
Maria

Hi, Maria:

I’m envious of those who have multiple language skills.

As for me, I’m language-poor, pretty much limited to English and so forced to wander in my one-language desert. :slight_smile:

Hi Bill,