DTP for information gathering and project management

I have been using DTPro intensively for several years for information gathering, in several projects.

I use a database for each category of projects. For instance:
project categories

• non-profit
  • writing
  • training
  • personal development

What I appreciate, is the robustness and reliability of DTP, as well as its capacity to synchronize between different desktop machines (for me: Mac Mini and MacBook Air, over Dropbox). Unfortunatly, DTTGO, which I have purchased, isn’t as reliable (some database are reluctant to synchronize) nor convenient (the note taking interface is just too basic).

Recently, I have upgraded to DTP Office in order to be able to manage systematically bills from our non-profit, as well as scan occasionnally info page (can work well with newspaper articles, when they are not too large).

I usually manage a couple of projects at the same time, typically 2 or 3 professionnally, and a few writing projects. I have recently customized the Project template to my own needs, and it works. Additionnally, I have added the Annotate and Revision scripts, which I found a bit difficult to customize.

I would appreciate if there could be some notion of dates in the folders and files managed in DTP (such as deadlines). I could do that in invoking reminders, but seems like fragmenting projects into bits. Instead, I am looking what project management software I could use that would interface well with DTP Pro, allowing for instance to refer to larger notes / docmentation. I’ve tried Omnifocus, but it is to individual for me, as I want to be able to share my project with a small team (less than 10 people). If you have any insights on how to articulate DTP usage with project management, please tell me.