DTPO & Genealogical Research

Inspired by John’s excellent contribution on how he uses DEVONthink, Courtroom blitz, I thought it might be of interest if I described how I use DEVONthink Pro Office, (DTPO) in my Genealogical and family history research. First a bit of background information.

I have been researching my family history and genealogy for something like 10 years and until I came across the Devon suite of applications had relied on written notes and files to contain documents, ephemera and sundry family related objects such as medals. I did have an application to record the family tree and still use the same one; although I have tried others I find that Reunion for Macintosh suits my needs and the work I do the best. Reunion also links very nicely into DTPO which I do nor know if some others do, they may well so if you are using something else then what I say about linking may also apply.

My basic set up in DTPO is to have a Group for every person in my Reunion application for whom I have a document of any kind. What do I mean by a “document”? For these purposes “document” means any image of anything relating to my genealogical research. This is very broad and can include photographs of objects, scans of certificates, letters, emails, web pages, notes, diaries, internet links, books—you get the picture anything that can be reproduced into electronic data and therefore importable into DTPO. Here is an extract from my folder structure.