DTPO - Spinning Wheel of Death

Newbie here.

Whenever I try to switch views, DTPO locks up: the spinning color wheel of death. Started yesterday. No upgrades or updates installed since it last worked.

OSX reports the app not responding.

I’ve rebuilt the DB. Doesn’t help. Any thoughts?

I’ve resigned myself to having to uninstall and reinstall the software (OS X) but wanted to do as little damage as possible, since I own the entire Devon suite.

How does one go about that? Any ideas before I go that far?

What operating system and version / edition of DEVONthink are you running?

If Pro / Pro Office, is this with the Global Inbox or a separate database?
Do you have a particular file chosen in a particular view: for example, you have a PDF selected in List View (no preview), but switch to Three Pane View (which has a preview) ?

Are you accessing indexed files that are on a network volume or WebDAV – that that network location is online but not very responsive?

Are you loading databases that have scripts stored in them - and the application(s) that the script(s) operate are no longer installed?

These and similar situations can cause OS X to ponder deeply before proceeding, and that will slow down DEVONthink.

No, I wish. No webdev or other.

And no scripts in dB.

I’m not at home right now, but latest OS X & DTPO. I’m really New user.

I let the wheel spin while I ran errands, several hours.

Please start a Support Ticket. Thanks

Such slowdowns often result from running out of free RAM.

That can happen when the database has become too large for the available RAM on your computer. The most important measure of database size is the total number of words, a statistic provided by File > Database Properties > .

We discourage treating DEVONthink as a Finder replacement. That’s not the true purpose. Don’t, for example, try to capture all the files on your computer into a DEVONthink database.