EasyFind - searching the Filesystem

I usually use terminal to do my various searches of the filesystem, and wondered if I could just as easily do them using HoudahSpot, but quickly learned that I couldn’t. So it was suggested that I give EasyFind a try, and since it’s a DEVONtechnoliges product, I was all over it.

The last “find” that I ran was:
find ~ -type f \( -iname ".*" ! -iname ".DS_Store" ! -iname ".Bridge*" ! -iname ".Synology*" ! -iname "*.plist" \) -print

I’m now wondering if the above search can be done in EasyFind. That is, trying to locate any file in the filesystem that begins with a period (.) that is not named “.DS_Store” or “.Bridge*” or “.Synology” or “.plist”

Being that I’m extremely new to EasyFind, having just downloaded it, I’m not sure what type of operator to use. I’m guessing that I want “wildcards”, as that’s the only time that I get any relevant hits on .*, but it fails when I use .* !".DS_Store

Using RegEx works for ^\., finding anything that because with a period, but there’s no NOT in RegEx, thus making it very difficult to exclude the thing that I don’t want.

Why are you trying to locate any hidden file in the filesystem?

Because I used to hide things there, that I didn’t want found. Encrypted DMGs, that I’d renamed with a period in front of it. (I spent most of my career doing computer forensics, so I know how and where to hide things that I don’t want easily found.) :wink:

so I know how and where to hide things that I don’t want easily found.

You’re so good at hiding things, even YOU can’t find them! :flushed: :stuck_out_tongue:

In EasyFind, enable Include: Invisible Files & Folders.
Set the Operator to Regular Expressions and enter this seach term: ^\.(?!([DSB]|.*plist))

• ^ : anchor at beginning of string
  • \. : escape dot to look for a literal period.
  • (?!… : use a negative lookahead
  • ( : segregate the two conditions in internal parentheses