EndNote scripts

I’m new to DT unfortunately. But I have about 2000 citations already in EndNote, and I’d like to capture more of that data to use in DT. (I have DT Pro Office 2.0.9, MacBook Pro OSX 10.6.7)

The EndNote script works well enough for books, but when you use it for any other type of reference material, the script only pulls the author name, year and number of pages, ignoring all other fields. I tried revising the script, adding the field names that EN uses for newspaper references, (and admittedly I’m about as new to script revision as to DT) but that just allowed DT to capture the data and show it in the error message but then do nothing with it.

Maybe I’ll have to tell EndNote all of my articles are books, temporarily, just for the purpose of importing data from all of the fields, but it would be great to work around that if possible.

I’ve searched and found recent forum posts about integrating DT w/ other citation software, but the only posts about Endnote seem to be outdated and/or unanswered. I’d love to hear how others have integrated or transitioned from EndNote to DT. Thank you.

I also would be interested in this topic.

2000 citations? I remember those bygone days, as I reached 10000. LOL

yes, well, I’m new to Endnote, too. though i don’t think i’ve reached 10K, that was just the docs for one chapter. Wish I’d discovered/thought-to-explore these techniques a few years ago.

I tried pretending my newspaper article references were books, converting them to books, that is, but then I noticed that it isn’t the reference type that’s the problem – the script seems to just work for the Endnote citations that were generated from library catalogs, not those that I filled out in Endnote myself.

let’s hope somebody brilliant responds with a solution. As I mentioned, I’ve come across many unanswered questions about Endnote, and otherwise-relevant answers are about old versions.

Thanks in advance for any advice, commiseration, etc.