Erractic indexing and sync behavior

I am new to DT3 and DT2Go. I have used DT3 only on my Mac for a few days and everything appeared ok.
Now I am syncing my database via Dropbox to access it via two iPads using DT to Go 3, and suddenly strange issues occur:

• Not all files appear to sync to mobile. E.g. the iPads show just 11 out of 23 files in a specific folder (pretty much everywhere there a few files missing per folder)
  • Sometimes, once I view a file missing on DT3toGo on DT3 on my Mac, they briefly appear on the iPad, too.
  • A few moments later, they disappear from both the Mac and the iPad.
  • Of course, they are still available in my actual Finder folder structure. Reindexing the folders, however, does not help.

I don’t import files to the DT3 database, but just index my existing folders. Because the iPads belong to different family members, I have to sync through Dropbox rather than iCloud. The iPads are on the latest versions of ipadOS, the Mac is on 10.14.6 Mojave. All documents are OCR’ed scans produced by the same HP AiO printer-scanner HP OfficeJet Pro 9020.

Are there types of documents or file names that DT3 / DTTG3 can’t handle? Why can files appear and then disappear again?

Hi, and welcome to the forum and the wonderful world of indexing and syncing.

I can’t explain what you are describing, but I do have a couple of questions:

• where are the files located which you are indexing (please provide a sample path, replace sensitive information with a generic term if necessary)?
  • Does the sync location verify successfully (in DT3 go to Preferences/Sync and from the context menu of the sync location select Verify Location Quickly)
  • How are you “reindexing” the folders?

If you haven’t done so, it’s always worth reading the section on importing & indexing in the handbook (pp 51-54).