Existing tags disappear when removing duplicates

I am running into the problem of having duplicates

Here is my setup:

• I am trying to manage around 20k research documents as PDF. My application is research: a paper can be relevant for different projects or classes.
  • I like devonthink3’s ability to model hierarchical tags. My current tag hierarchy is up to 3 levels deep.
    Example:
    Current > Some course > Course topic 1
    That will list paper relevant for the “Course topic 1” of “some course” in preparation.
  • I have been using “Expression Media 2” for that purpose for the last 10+ years. It is a photo tagging application that I have found years go, repurposed for my task, yet it is not supported on Mac with 64 bits anymore. I pushed it off for a long time to upgrade from macOS Mojave 10.14 so far. I looked around and Devonthink3 can support what I need (see above).
  • I have all my papers in one single folder (actually I do have a few subfolders but that is not relevant for the question here). I do not want to important all my 20k papers into devonthink3’s database and thus decide to just index them.
  • An alternative I looked at is called “Leap”. It is more lightweight (I don’t need most of devonthink3’s functionality). However it cannot do hierarchical tags.

Here is how I envision the transition:

• So I now have still a hierarchy of say 100-200 tags in this other system. I chose to “index” all my 20k papers. Now I want to carry over the old hierarchy to devonthink3 by selecting all the papers say with the tag “Course topic 1” in the finder (or the old tool) and dragging them into the new “Course topic 1” tag in devonthink3. I am holding CMD + ALT to avoid the default of importing the PDF
  • That creates “duplicates”. So in the devonthink3 database I now have the dragged pointers both in the inbox, and under the smart group “Duplicates”