Fundamental questions

I just discovered DT, have the trial installed, and thinking of purchasing. However, I have a few questions about how things fundamentally work.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that the version I am using is DT Pro 1.2.1 trial.

Are files in DT nothing more than references to the real files? I am assuming this is how it works, otherwise it would be silly.

According to the documentation, synchronization is one way - from the files system to DT. So in theory if i up date a file in by normal means and then sync it, the new version should show up in DT. Does this apply to imported information from the Address book? I tried it and it did not seem to work. I also tried to sync bookmarks from Delicious and that did not work either. What is the best way to make sure they are up to date? Re-import? Not very elegant if you ask me.

Another question related to Syncing. I am a web designer and I plan to use this software to keep all my projects organized. Obviously I would not to do much coding within DT because it is not intended for that, but it would be nice to be able small changes to HTML or CSS occasionally. My understanding of the syncing feature is that I will not be able to do this. Furthermore, what if i want to make changes to any document such as an import text document or PDF?

In the Extras folder of the dmg, there are some scripts. Is there an explanation of these anywhere and how do I install them?

I tried to Download a website using the Import > Site menu option. I added a Url and hit the ‘play’ button. The entry just disappears and nothing is downloaded. Is this disabled in the trial version or something?

In general I think it is a great product. You should definitely make your FAQ section more comprehensive and more tutorials would be nice.