Global and Database tags

I’m new to DT and setting up a workflow. My first step with items in the Global Inbox is to add tags before moving the item to a database group.

Having created a simple hierarchy of tags under ‘Inbox’, I’d assumed that the tag hierarchy would be maintained in the Database.

e.g., I have an invoice in the Global Inbox tagged with ‘invoice’ from the hierarchy:
work admin > financial > invoice

However, after adding the tag, I move the document to a database group and three separate tags are created; ‘work admin’, ‘financial’ and ‘invoice’.

I can copy the hierarchy list of tags from the Global Inbox to the relevant database but would need continue to do that manually in order to get consistency.

I must be missing something in the management of tags. I haven’t found a way to manage tags consistently across the Global and other databases but I’m sure it must be possible. Otherwise, every time I move a document with tags it’s going to mess up the tag hierarchy in the destination.

Any help or advice for how I might manage tags in a more consistent fashion would be really appreciated.

Welcome @gavingough

Development would have to assess this but the current behavior is not a bug.
One obvious option would be to import to each database’s Inbox and tag the items there.

PS: Are you using the invoice tag in more than one hierarchy?

Thanks for your reply. I’ve established what I think is a usable tag hierarchy, without duplicates. As you say, I can import into one database Inbox and then providing the document never moves out of that database, the tags will remain intact.

I don’t think it’s a bug but I can’t see an advantage to tags not retaining their relationship with their parent tags when a document is moved. Essentially, tags are changing when a document is moved, which would seem to defeat the purpose of adding tags in the first place.