Group structures you find work best for large interconnected projects

Hello, Im new to Devonthink but fairly experienced with a variety of database software.

My question has to do with optimizing the db structure for a rather large multi-year project Ive already begun. Here’s a quick description:

I am researching through technical pdfs, applying the information in the real world, then documenting the outcome, and will finally make media-content about it, and lastly make my own support-products as a result of all this.

Right now I have a structure of:

1. PDF db
  2. Live testing of PDF documents in real-world setting db
  3. content creation db
  4. business db (receipts, emails, messages relating to business)

all four of these dbs could be put together into one - however I built it as is on instinct. What do you recommend doing for a long, complex, inter-related project that will span decades?

For a decades-long project, you should assume that any connection that you don’t make explicit will be forgotten at some point.

In my work, that means putting things together based on content, rather than type. That is, if you read a PDF about widgets, take notes about it, and then attempt to replicate its results, all three items should be filed together as “widgets.” Receipts related to widgets might be filed separately to facilitate generation of financial reports, but all the widget-related correspondence belongs in the main widget folder/database.

Edit to add: An exception to this would be content creation. You might want to file the finished products in DT, but probably not WIP. You’ll probably be happier if you keep works in progress in whatever structure works with your writing/graphic design/video/etc. tools.