How are Links Broken

Hi All. I’m new to DevonThink (and new to Macs in general) but so far I think the program will work well for me, though I’m still trying to get a handle on exactly how I will use it best. I have been using TheBrain as my knowledge and information management software but have been looking for something that feels a little more robust. I think DevonThink is that - I’ve worked through the “Taking control of…” ebook and so the basics at least seem to have sunk in.

The one drawback with moving from TheBrain however, is that visually I found it stunning and easy to navigate so I’m looking to see if I can combine the 2 programs in a way that doesn’t create too much working overlap. To that end I’ve been looking into DevonThink’s use of links and they seem to work well - I can put links in TheBrain back to the DevonThink note (and I may even be able to automate that somehow), but I would love a better understanding of how the links work for down the track.

The links seem to be in the form of: x-devonthink-item://4DF4AD38-etc etc
I guess what I’d like to know is what can break the link. For example would moving the item to a new database alter the link (moving it to a new location in the same database was fine), if I had to move all my databases etc to a new computer would the links still work etc? Even if the link I was clicking on was in a file located outside of DevonThink? There are other examples I’m sure I’m not thinking of, but basically as I said, I’d like to know what can break the links before I spend too much time setting them up.

Thanks in advance for your time and any insight.

So since no ones chimed in I thought I’d come back with “answers of sorts” to my own questions in case someone comes across this looking for similar answers.