How do I change Devonthink's language? (SOLVED)

hi to all,

i am new to devonthink and after some weeks of testing it, i bought devonthink pro office with devon agent.
those are great tools; very powerfull and lots of potential. unfortunately the GUI / the ergonomics are not at its best yet, hence i often surf forums, tutorials or even on devon academy. mostly those refer to the english version of Devonthink.
besides, the german translation is less than optimal.
since i use DT on a german system (mac os 10.5), DT is in german as well. so my question is, how do i change the operating language in DT to english?

thanx a lot for help.

close DevonThink, select it in the Finder, press cmd-I (Information) and deselect Deutsch (or whatever language your system is working on) in the language section.

Other Option: The documentation pdf has a section ordered by menus so it is easy to spot what is the desired English word (I had to look up one or two myself this way to understand what the Forum is talking about :wink:)

Hope that helps
Johannes

hi johannes,

thanks a lot; it worked perfectly. i didn’t know this trick which seems to be part of mac os x. turns out to be quite useful :smiley:

Same problem for me, but the old solution (CMD-I) seems not working anymore. Any idea to change it under OSX Sierra?

Thanks!

Ralf

You can change the primary language in System Preferences > Language & Region then launch DEVONthink, but so will other apps you launch after that. You could change the language back and DEVONthink will remain in chosen language, but this will not be persistent after DEVONthink restarts.

Thanks for the fast reply, Jim! Mhh, what a pity that there’s no permanent solution ;-( I read about deleting the German language folder in the resources of the app, maybe this would be the best solution (though I have to do it again after updating).

Have a nice day!

Best

Ralf