How do i get rid of duplicates and keep the original?

Is there a way to get rid of duplicates and keep the original? Have a folder with 92 duplicates and don’t want to delete the half of them manually.

There is no “original” – duplicates are exact copies of the file that was duplicated.

Use Scripts > Data > Move Duplicates to Trash but verify your results before emptying the Trash.

I’m brand new to DT (Pro/Office) and have a similar question. I’m in the process of consolidating from all my scattered sources into DT. I’m finding sometimes I bring in a bunch of files into the Inbox that I have already sorted into various folders in the database previously. I can see there are duplicates in the Duplicates smart folder. What I’d like to do is just trash the ones in the Inbox and keep the others all filed where I have them. What’s the best way to do that? Highlight everything in the Duplicates smart folder and run the script of moving all Duplicates to Trash? I want to make sure I don’t trash the ones that are already sorted or trash ones in the Inbox that aren’t duplicates (and still need to be sorted).

Thanks!

Depending on the setting in DEVONhink > Preferences > General > Appearance > Mark duplicates and replicants in color, duplicates either have a name whose color is blue, or they have an icon indicating duplication.

Once you’ve determined an item is a duplicate, you can locate the other duplicates of this document by looking at the “See Also” portion of the “See Also & Classify” drawer (Data > See Also & Classify or the See Also & Classify “hat” icon. In the See Also display, duplicates and replicants have a score of 100 – the score bar is totally green.

or you can open Tools > Show Info and click the “Instances” button to see the path of each duplicate.