How do I stop an indexed PDF disappearing from all my databases when its moved on one?

Hi All,

I am new to Devonthink, it seems to have a lot of the functions I need. But I am now struggling a little. I have a number of databases, I want to index files, mostly PDFs, into the databases. I have one master folder where I keep a lot of PDF papers (DB1), I’ve then duplicated some PDF’s into another databases, lets call that DB2. I can see the PDF in both databases and it all looks good, edits made in one show up in both and the indexed file is in the right location.

But, if I move the PDF’s location from within DevonThink in DB1, as I further organise and add to my other referencing software and file etc, it now shows up as ‘file missing’ in DB2.

Why can’t I move items in DB1 and DevonThink automatically updates the location in DB2?

Anything I can do? If DevonThink can’t do this I might as well just make copies of the PDF’s in folders.

Thank you,

Tim

That’s not supported currently and would require that all databases indexing the same file are opened. Just curious but why do you index files multiple times?

Hi, Thank you for the response. I only index once, to bring into my main DB1 where I keep my papers. But then I then duplicate the PDF into the database where I am trying to organise the PDF papers I working on for a particular project DB2. Within DB2 I have a number of groups, one paper might be duplicated into a number of groups in DB2.

Problem is if I move the PDF in DB1 for any reason it shows as file missing in all the groups in DB2.

I am new to DevonThink, maybe I am going about it all wrong.

Is a second database definitely necessary? E.g. you could also use a dedicated group for the current project. In addition, then you don’t have to duplicate the files, you could replicate them instead.

I think I need the second DB, as DB1 is large, over 23gb of PDF’s that I do not want to sync with my iPhone. Thanks