How do I work with information with a associated date?

When scanning e.g. delivery manifests which I might want to find either by date or by content I’m at a bit of a loss (newbie here) how to handle date best. Approaches I tried:

• Naming it manually like: “manifest-xxx.2015-05-12” -> I might be able to find it if I know the date with 2015-05-12 or even 2015-05 or 2015 (the filename is used for search isn’t it?)
  • Having a folder structure like “Manifests” -> “2015” -> “05” (not sure how this helps finding stuff except by browsing)
  • Changing creation date
  • Some tagging scheme (which?)
  • Some “date” feature I have missed so far
  • ?

Generally I’m interested in how people deal with documents that have a “date”

I primarily use Hazel for this, with a rule that adds a date to the document name based on a date in the document. I also must add the date manually to some documents, and for that I have a Keyboard Maestro macro to add the date in the same form as my Hazel rule. I also tag many documents with a year date tag (2015) which makes it handy to set up smart groups to retrieve all document so tagged for any given year. So there are three ways I associate a date to a document, but unfortunately two of the three require a third-party app.

I was asked to post an example of the Hazel date rule(s) that I use, and linked here is a discussion of a rule that I use with my AT&T bill.

:smiley: :smiley:

Dates are super important to a large number of my documents. I store the date in the date ‘creation date’ field. Documents that are prepared outside Devon, say with Email Archiver or by one of my helpers who has prepared them by bookmarking them in Adobe, will have dates in the form YY-MM-DD at the front of the name. A simple applescript strips the date off the front of the filename and sets the’ creation date’. If I ever need to reverse the process, say to export the documents, an applescript restores the date to the filename.