How I best perform a deep search for images?

Hi, I’m new with devonagent.

(I watched the video tutorials. but its very complex)

How do I best perform a deep search for images?

I want to search the web for paintings from several artists, to example Van Gogh and Cezanne.

Then doing this search frequently for only new paintings.

That can be done by a custom scheduled search, filtered for linked images.

As a test, I made a duplicate of the Web (Deep) search set.

In the set’s General tab I gave it the default search criterion, Cezanne (you can add others if you wish). I set it to filter previously archived results, and set the Scanner for linked images.

In the set’s Actions tab I set it to archive results, and to send the results of each search to my email address.

In the Schedule tab it’s set for Never, but can be repeated manually. If you wish, you can schedule it to run automatically.

When I choose the Results tab after a search, clicking on a page displays the images on that page.

Bill – I tried doing an image search also. I used Web Deep, selected embedded images scanner. Searched for “stevia insulin AUC” because I was trying to find graphs of how the sweetener stevia did or did not affect insulin release. I asked DA to follow the links 1 level deep.

This seemed like a reasonable thing to use DA for. But 95% of the images that came back were useless thumbnails or icons related to the web page, but not the topic. Contrast this with using Google image search. Google nails it.

Was this a reasonable use of DA ? If so – what did I do wrong? If not, then what is the “embedded images” scanner for?

I keep trying to use DA in my work because it looks like such a great tool, and I want it to work. But I fail every time. Sigh.

Thanks for any suggestions.