How Many Databases Do You Use in Your DT Library

I am fairly new to DT, been using it about six months. I am an elementary school principal, so I have lots of stuff to put into DT. When I first set it up, I started with five databases (Memos, Misc, Parents, Staff, and Students). I was recently trying to create a replicant and discovered that you cannot create one in a different database. This is problematic for the parent, staff, and student databases because saving an email in a parent’s group it would be useful to have a replicant in the teacher’s and student’s group as well. Naturally I am thinking about combining the three databases into one and then just using groups. Then I thought, gee maybe I should just EVERYTHING in one database. I am curious as to what your thoughts are on doing this?

Because of what you say you want to do and assuming you are not going to have millions of documents… seems like One database way to go unless for reasons, say security and access, you really need more.

I use a single database,
and would use tags for those categories
for example Type-Memos, Type-Misc, Type-Parents, Type-Staff, …

Note; In Devonthink, tags are also listed as special groups

1 Like

Not everyone can shift to a Tags only or Groups only set up instantly, I couldn’t.
What I’ve done over the last three years is slowly transition from one giant database to 7 ongoing databases. Some are very tag heavy and some rely on almost entirely groups. A lot of that transition is figuring out efficient tag structures and group organization.
It’s evolutionary and, in the long run, revolutionary.

3 Likes

Could you share how you think about what should be a tag versus a group for you? I’ve stuck with groups for now but don’t have a firm understanding or examples of the differences