How to avoid problems due to permissions

Hello,

I’ve been using DTPro for about 18 months now and I’ve just run into my first real problem: I discovered that about 800 files were missing from one of my DTPro databases. I was able to recover by using one of my external backups created using the Daily Backup Archive script. But I’m concerned that I don’t really know how this happened in the first place.

I’ve spent a lot of time over the previous 18 months reading and occasionally interacting on the forums, consulting the manual, and becoming more cautious about the way I run MacOS. But I’m still confused about how permissions affect DTPro databases and the files therein. I’ve always been pretty conservative with my databases, copying them “manually” or using ChronoSync to copy entire databases from one machine to a portable HDD to another machine and then back again. This has been very stable for most of my very short career of DTPro usage.

But recently, after rebuilding my system I encountered an issue that I don’t really grasp, the “ignore file ownership” option on my portable HDD. And despite their attempts to help, the tech support staff at Econ Technologies have not been able to enlighten me regarding the difference between leaving the option “ignore file ownership” checked or unchecked on my portable HDD when I run basic left-right syncs. If you leave “ignore file ownership” checked Chronosync warns you but it’s not clear to me what the risk is. If you leave “ignore file ownership” unchecked then, presumably, the permissions for the file are preserved as it is copied to another machine. Maybe this has nothing to do with my missing file issue but I want to be certain given my dependence upon this kind of “syncing” between machines.

I’ve looked for “ignore file ownership” in the forums but haven’t found anything that helps. I’d appreciate any help on this issue.

Will