How to create label / tag / prefix script?

Hi,

I’m a relative novice with scripting, but through the help of forum members I’ve applied some trigger scripts. I’m trying to figure out a how to create a script that will do the following

If I tag a file “High” -> label file “High” and add prefix “1_” to the file
If I label a file “High” -> tag file “High” and add prefix “1_” to the file
If I add prefix “1_” to the file -> tag file “High,” and label file “High”

In other works, whether I change the prefix (to “1_”), tag a file ("High), or label a file (“High”), I’d like a file to have all three identifiers. I’d like this to work for prefixes “2_” & “3_” ; tags “Medium” & “Low” ; and, labels " “Medium” & “Low”

Any suggestions? Thank you so much in advance for your help!

I’m going to suggest changing your mind about the approach. If I understand the requirement correctly, you would want a trigger script that you apply to individual files, and the script investigates the state of the tags, the label, and the name of the file. The script then modifies these three elements. And you want the script to evaluate each of the three elements to determine which of them changed, before changing the other two.

The logic here is a bit complex, but I’d suggest the real problem is that applying a number of trigger scripts like this in a database might artificially create some overhead that would eventually diminish the responsiveness of your database. So, I’d suggest that you instead of all these logic checks, you just have three scripts: “make me high”, “make me medium”, and “make me low” – and each script sets all three elements according to your specifications. Here’s an example of the “make me high script”:

property p_label : 1
property p_tag : "High"
property p_prefix : "1_"

tell application id "com.devon-technologies.thinkpro2"

set theSelection to the (first item of (the selection as list))
	if the kind of theSelection is not "Group" then