how to relocate global inbox

Hi all, I just upgraded from an iMac to a MacPro. I have been using DTPO for a couple of years now and find it indispensable. Let me describe an odd situation that has arisen since upgrading to a new computer.

I have always maintained ALL of my databases on an external hard drive so that I could take them with me and access them from my laptop on the road. This has worked flawlessly for nearly 2 years. Everytime I leave my office, I unplug my G-Drive Mini from the Firewire 800 cable and put it in my bag…and then when I fire up my MBP at work, I plug the drive into the MBP and I can access the same databases I use at home.

I just installed DTPO onto a new MacPro and I plugged in the same G-Drive Mini…firstly DTPO on the new MacPro could not open the databases…said theyu were already open. I had to use backups…the copies on the Mini were useless for no apparent reason. But this is fixed…I back up very often.

So, now I am running with the databases on the external as before…the macpro can access them fine. But I noticed that the GLOBAL INBOX is located on the internal hard drive of the MacPro and NOT on the Mini external drive. I have tried copying it to the Mini drive but DTPO just recreates a new GLOBAL INBOX in the same place (internally) when it starts up. This means of course that my GLOBAL INBOX is no longer portable. HELP!! Can someone help me relocate this GLOBAL INBOX to the Mini drive as it was originally??? Thanks in advance.

Unlike the other DT Pro/Office databases, which are placed in a user-selected location, usually the Documents folder, the Global Inbox is located within the user directory at ~/Library/Application Support/DEVONthink Pro 2/. If it is removed from that location, a new Global Inbox will automatically be created at that locatioin.