I’ve searched help and the forums. I haven’t found the answer and I’m puzzled.
I have an indexed folder. I would like to remove it from the database. I understand the tight connection between DT3 and the Finder. I know that if I delete the indexed folder, it will be deleted from the Finder also.
But I want to leave the folder in the Finder. So I’m looking for an “un-index” function, or options for what happens when I move the indexed folder to DT3’s trash or empty the trash. Jim wrote in response to someone else’s inquiry that there is no way to un-index. And my trial-and-error testing today has not revealed any options provided up on moving to trash or emptying trash.
But there must be some way to undo the indexing, remove an indexed folder, and leave the folder in the Finder. Right?
Or I will have to make a copy of the folder in Finder, delete the indexed folder, which will delete the original folder in the Finder, and then move my copy where the original was?
I do see it now. I think that the reason I did not see it before was that I was trying to remove a replicant of a sub-folder of the indexed parent folder. I had put the replicant into a DT3 group (not indexed). So the relationship of the sub-folder to the indexed parent folder was not obvious to me. Apparently, DT3 knew that it was a sub-folder of an indexed parent folder even though I did not.
Removing the indexed parent folder, which I wanted to do in any case, worked as expected. I received the options in your screen grab.