How to specify target database and group when using "DEVONthink - Import, OCR & Delete" folder action script?

I’m an absolute AppleScript beginner and would like to modify the folder action script "“DEVONthink - Import, OCR & Delete” to upload to a pre-specified specific database and group. What is the best way to do this?

Currently use Hazel to monitor my Downloads folder and then move files to the relavant “import” folder - e.g. Receipts, PDFs to Read, etc. For each import folder I will attach a folder action to import, ocr, and then delete the contained files.

Thanks

Rudy, I have zero knowledge of AppleScript so what do I do, …

If you use the Action Folder to get a file into the DT Inbox, why can’t you use Smart Rules to move files to where you want them in DT? In passing some users have reported a strategy of using tags (perhaps automatically added by Hazel) that can be used if needed as a trigger for a Smart Rule. Another approach is a bit different, you could use a indexed folder as a transition point [I call this no mans land :slight_smile: ] and this could be useful, for example to get DT to OCR files using Smart Rule if necessary but also allows Hazel to work on these files as well if relevant.

To get more useful feedback you really need to use a step by step example so readers can get a better idea of what is actually required

Thanks for the ideas @timaru.

This might be based on incorrect assumptions, but I prefer Folder Actions as I believe they run without Devonthink having to be open, whereas Smart Rules don’t. Do let me know if I’m wrong!

Here is an example workflow:

1. Download receipts from internet to Downloads folder.
  2. (With Hazel:) Items identified as receipts based on source URL, file name etc. Tagged with “Receipt” and then moved to “Receipt Inbox”
  3. Folder Action triggered, which imports receipt to DT3 (ideally to specific Receipt database), indexes it, and then deleted it from the Receipt Inbox.