How to use placeholders for/within smart rules?

Hi everyone,

I am still quite new to using DEVONthink but already tried - with not much luck - to find more information on how to use placeholders within smart rules to rename files.

I’d like to rename a file by just adding the creation date of the file to the name of the file, like:

currentFileName.pdf to creationDate_currentFileName.pdf

DEVONthink seems to use %recordName% as a placeholder for “currentFileName”.

As DEVONthink doesn’t not seem to preview available placeholders while entering e.g. %creationDate% into the form I tried to google placeholders that are available for use in smart rules.

In the manual I couldn’t find a placeholder that is used for the fileCreationDate, which is why I googled and came across %creationDate% and/or “documentDate”.

But when I enter for example %creationDate%_%recordName% it does seem to work for the form but the output is still incorrect (when I apply the rule afterwards).

File name: XYZ.pdf

After the rule is applied the file name is changed to %creationDate%_XYZ.pdf. The first placeholder isn’t recognized/replaced by DEVONthink. I would expect that the file would be renamed like 190831_XYZ.pdf

What am I doing wrong? Is there anywhere a support article on how to use this functionality in detail?

Is there a setting to activate an autocomplete option for these placeholders so that one can see while entering e.g. date which placeholders with …date… are available?

Hope someone can lead me into the right direction. Thank you! :blush:

Are you typing in the percent form instead of using the actual placeholders?

Placeholders are covered in Help > Documentation > Appendix > Placeholders.

This is working as expected here:

Hi Jim,

thanks for your input. Yes that’s what I tried.

I entered %creationDate%:

After entering %creationDate% I hit enter to have it highlighted in blue:

Then I added the rest _%recordName% and applied the rule.