How & what are you using DEVONThink for?

Hey DT 3 users,

I’ve been using DTPO for several years, and am constantly amazed at the new and different ways that I continually find to use DEVONThink. To that end, I’m very curious as to how others are using this amazing product. How and what are you using it for?

Thanks,

Curious

1 Like

I do 90% of all my support in a DEVONthink database (and many test databases as the need arises. I’ve had up to 150 test databases at one time).

Outside of work, I pay the majority of my bills in DEVONthink and also have several database on subjects of interest to me.

2 Likes

I first started using it to gain control over my technical library. Many file cabinets of papers etc reduced to a single OCRed database that makes finding stuff a breeze. 19.3 GB as of today. From there I started databases for business records, financial stuff, you name it. To be frank, given where the computer world is going with privacy and what not, Devonthink is probably the overwhelmingly main reason I am still on Macs. My lab runs on Windows and I am looking at ways to move that stuff to Linux.

Along with databases for specific interests, I use DT as a complement to my law library. In my law database, using smart groups, I search for phrases in pdfs (ocr). I’ve never bothered with annotations before but expect I shall once DT3 is “official”. Also, the ocr engine in DT3 is much faster than in DTPO so I anticipate using DT3 for ocr along with Acrobat Pro X1. Having ocr-d in DT3, I’ll print the pdf to the appropriate folder in Finder where as the central repository I can open and use the pdf with any of the other pdf readers I have.