Import Bookmarks from CSV file with custom metadata

Hello guys,

I’m just trying Devonthink out and I’m not technically savvy enough to import bookmarks from a .csv with the following structure while keeping the custom metadata intact:

Title | URL | Date | Author
Doktor Schiwago | .com | 31.12.2011 | Boris Paternak
Krieg und Frieden | .com | 31.12.1869 | Leo Tolstoy

Could anyone please help me out with an example script?

I don’t see any bookmarks there, only top-level domains. Also, what do you mean by „import“ here? A script would have to create these bookmarks, I suppose.

Thanks for answering.

You are right.
I had to leave the rest out because the spamfilter wouldn’t let me post it.
By importing I do mean to create them in Devonthink, I exported the .csv from MyInfo.

For clarity and practical testing, there are always two requirements:

1. An actual sample of input – perhaps you could zip a sample of such CSV and attach it here ?
  2. Clarity about the corresponding output – perhaps you could manually create a sample of 2 or 3 corresponding bookmarks in DEVONthink, and show a screenshot of them here ?
1 Like

Thanks for looking into it.
The original has about 500 entries, so it would be tedious to do this manually.

Here are the examples:

example1.zip (937 Bytes)

1 Like

What custom metadata are you referring to? There is no such thing in a .CSV file from an external source.

Also, importing a .CSV file yields a DEVONthink sheet, fully intact as it was exported. Here’s yours…

And here, I’ve edited the column headers…

…and removed extraneous records…

1 Like

Thanks for helping.

Sorry, English isn’t my first language.
It is difficult to to explain what I’m trying to achieve.

The .csv is an export from a different programm i use. Every row is a separate note there.
So I don’t intend to import the .csv directly into DEVONthink.

I am trying to display the data inside of it as bookmarks in DEVONthink.
Every row should be a bookmark there.