Imported .doc files become .rtf files!

OK, I’m a newbie and maybe I’m missing something. I just imported a folder containing all sorts of old and new resumes into DT so I could easily access my resume info within DT. Imported using the menu commands. Some of the older stuff was unrecognizable of course, such as WordPerfect files, and some other stuff was in AppleWorks, again OK. But my resume versions for the past few years were all in MS Word, have .doc extensions, and were all converted to .rtf files in DT! Why are these not being imported as .doc files rather than .rtf files? I looked at the preferences and I think it is all set OK. I can still get the info from them of course, but I want everything to function as it should. Sigh, just trying to get some work done on a proposal…

Thanks,
ChemBob

ChemBob:

OS X 10.3.x can capture the text of a MS Word document as RTF. DT uses this feature and stores the rich text in your database. That’s “normal” behavior. Now you can search the contents of the Word document within your database.

So when you import a folder containing .doc files, that’s what happens. When you click on one of those imported items, you will view it as an RTF document. Now Show Info on the selected item. You will see that the Path field contains information on the location of the original Word document. Click on the “@” symbol to the right of the Path field and MS Word will be launched to open the document. [Assuming, of course, that you did not delete the folder and its files after importation! I don’t delete my original Word, PDF or image files from my HD after I’ve imported them into DT.]

What makes DEVONthink wonderful for me is that I can quickly search the thousands of PDF, Word, HTML, text, and RTF documents in my references collection. I make a lot of use of the “See Also” feature, as well, to look for material that may be related to a document I’m viewing.