Importing the Bible into Devonthink

Has anyone considered the usefulness of importing the Bible into Devonthink. I’m a pastor and so am always copying passages into a Word document. It struck me how much easier it might be to do all my work inside Devon, especially if I could link to passages instead of pasting them into a document.

But the task and the method of cataloging the Bible is rather daunting. You would want to be able to call up given verse by Book:Chapter:Verse. So each individual verse would need to be a separate rich text document. Either titled with Book:Chapter:Verse or in folders Book>Chapter>Verse. I think the first way would be better.

I wonder if their is a text version of the Bible that is parsed into verses so that it could be imported fairly easily.

Like I said, a rather daunting task. But one with great potential benefits for those of us who use the Bible regularly.

I don’t know of a Bible already divided anywhere.
But somewhere earlier on this forum, Christian said that a “divide documents” feature might be coming. That would do what you want. Sorry I can’t find the post.
Divide documents is something I would like, too.

jeffreyclong,
Have you tried the FREE Mac Online Bible? devon-technologies.com/phpBB … =5555#5555 ). But, with such a huge and complex text as the Bible, I imagine that using a dedicated Bible application might be the best way to go, importing sections and notes into DT as you research… am interested if you figure anything out though…

Some sites / applications:

sacred-texts.com/index.htm

macsword.com

accordancebible.com

in my opinion, if you want to do serious bible study/research, you need a dedicated app with the right tool set. i see two problems with importing the bible into DT.

first, once you have it there it’s now divorced from other associated tools that could work well with it. unless, of course, you import those tools and create the links.