Importing Word tables into DTP

Hi all…

I’m extremely new to both OS X and DTP/DA. I’m a medical student, and I’m trying to institute DTP/DA into my study/research program. I’m in my first year of med school, and just ran across this program. It was actually one of the reasons I purchased a Mac. With that in mind, please cut me a little slack if I don’t understand some of the simple things regarding DTP and DA. I’m trying to learn fast so I don’t spend more time on my Mac than I do my med school studies. I have two problems right now.

(1) My school formats my schedules, objectives, and assignments in Word tables. I have to have access to these tables all the time. I can either carry around a huge bundle of these printed out tables (like my classmates), or download them to my computer. I’d like to incorporate them into my DTP database and then link to other resources from these table cells. I can’t get a table imported without it coming out garbled. I imported it as a PDF and it turned out fine, but I can’t link to individual cells in the tables. Other than retyping my table, is there a way to import it intact as RTF?

(2) I seem to be having difficulties capturing RTF. I right click in DA and there is only a copy option…not a RTF. I tried the “Command-)” in Safari and didn’t get bubkus.

Once again I apologize for being a neophyte…but this is a great app for the situation I’m in, and I’d love to be able to use it effectively.

Hi,

The only way I’ve found to have my Word tables come through intact into DTPro is to print the Word tables to PDF and then import the PDF file. (When you click Print, in the lower left-hand corner is a Print to PDF button; you don’t need to own Adobe Acrobat.)

HTH

bpwhistler, while viewing a Web page in DA (or in the built-in browser in DT Pro) select the desired text and images, then Control-click (right-click) and use the contextual menu option “Add Selection to DEVONthink”.