Inaccurate searches - help please

Hello,

I’m using DT Pro Office. Everything is PDF + text.

The main reason I went for DT and the Pro Office version was the OCR, smart searches and the AI. I was hoping that DT will be a great way to manage, search and explore my pdf library (I’m a PhD researcher).

However, it seems like the searches are really inaccurate and in many cases DT is simply unable to locate the pdfs I’m after. Even when I copy the text directly from a pdf and then use that to search for that pdf it doesn’t come up - surely it should be a perfect match and right there at the top of the list? I have discovered this when I tried searching for a pdf I knew I had in there and had to resort to looking for it manually… It defeats the point of keeping pdfs in DT completely.

My question is, do you have any idea why this is happening and is there anything I can do? I have checked that those pdfs are OCRed and I can’t think of anything else. I imagine that if it can’t even find single pdfs then the smart groups or AI will miss those too.

Maybe it’s only certain kind of pdfs? Maybe the OCR can’t deal with something specific and so misses out on things even though the documents are shown as searchable? If so, is there any way to locate such documents?

The quality and accuracy of OCR (and therefore search) does depend on the source – e.g., a PDF scanned from a copy of a typed manuscript might not have 100% fidelity when OCRd.

But almost anything anyone tells you here is going to be speculation and not helpful to you, because we don’t have what you have. It would be better if you opened a ticket with Support and sent them copies of the PDFs that are having trouble being searched along with a description of what you expected and what you got.

Only if the text doesn’t contain search operators or if the text is quoted at least.