Inbox points to V2 not V3

I just noticed that several things that I have dragged to “Inbox” in my Finder Sidebar haven’t been showing up in my DT Inbox. I determined that the items are going into the DT2 Inbox folder not the DT3 inbox folder. Two questions:

1. Can I just remove the Inbox from my Finder sidebar and then drag the DT3 Inbox to the side bar without any undesirable side effects?

2. Can I delete the entire DT2 folder in ~Library/Applications Support?

(I have been running DT3 for a couple of months (or so) but didn’t notice the problem because I mostly use my iMac and that seems to be working correctly, but I am currently traveling with my MBP and that’s where the wrong folder is used).

DEVONthink 2 and 3 use different Inboxes. You find the Inbox of Version 2 here:

~/Library/Application Support/DEVONthink Pro 2/

and the Inbox of version 3 here:

~/Library/Application Support/DEVONthink 3/

Drag the Inbox (Inbox.dtBase2) you find in

~/Library/Application Support/DEVONthink Pro 2/

to the finder, open it as a Database and move the content wherever you want. Afterwards you can delete that Inbox. Then delete the Link in the finder sidebar and replace it with the Inbox for DEVONthink 3 (You can just drag the Inbox into the finder sidebar. Or use DEVONthink 3 > Install Add-Ons

Also, you should not run DEVONthink 2 and 3 on the same account, on the same machine. At a minimum, you should delete DEVONthink 2.x from the /Applications folder and reboot the machine.

Thanks to both of you – but I don’t think that I actually get an answer to either of my questions :slight_smile:

Clearly I knew where all of those folders are since I refer to both of them in my original question.

The DT2 was long removed from my Application folder and I am sure the machine has been rebooted several times since then (although I don’t reboot often).

So let me try again.