INBOX Watch folder - how to create various watch folders?

Apologies if this topic has been covered before - if so please redirect me to the answer…

I want to create various watch folders which will then move documents to different databases or groups (folders) within DTPro. My plan is to use Hazel to automate the workflow…

I currently use the INBOX watch folder that comes with DTPro, I have also looked at the Applescripts such as “DEVONthink - Import & Delete”, but these just move files to the main INBOX. [I am aware of other scripts that gives a dialog to chose the folder, but I want to preset this]

Is there a way to modify the script to set the destination path to a precise group/folder within DTPro (I have no applescript experience). If this is possible, I could then create different scripts for each of my watch folders

The script is below - can I change this to set the destination path & then save as a new applescript…

– DEVONthink - Import & Delete.applescript
– Created by Christian Grunenberg on Fri Mar 26 2010.
– Copyright © 2010-2014. All rights reserved.

on adding folder items to this_folder after receiving added_items
try
if (count of added_items) is greater than 0 then
tell application id “DNtp” to launch
repeat with theItem in added_items
try
set thePath to theItem as text
if thePath does not end with “.download:” and thePath does not end with “.crdownload:” then
tell application id “DNtp”
set theRecord to import thePath to incoming group
if exists theRecord then tell application “Finder” to delete theItem
end tell
end if
end try
end repeat
end if
end try
end adding folder items to

1 Like

The advice in this thread will show you the way:

1 Like

Thanks Korm, but due to my lack of Applescript experience I am struggling!

I have added these lines into the script

set theDatabase to open database “~/Library/Application Support/DEVONthink Pro 2/Inbox.dtBase2”

set theGroup to create location “/aaTEMP” in theDatabase

as follows:-

try