Indexing changes to image

I have a database created. I used GraphConverter to change IPTC field.
I use the search to search for information entered and DT can not find it.

I tried Update Indexed Items but that did not help but maybe I am doing it wrong?

How do I get this to be indexed in DevonThink.

If I delete the database and recreate it the above changes get input to the database and I can do a search and find them.

I am pretty new at this. I am using DT version 2.9.1 MacOS 12.4.

Thanks
Roger

This thread may be of interest—although do bear in mind it relates to DT3 rather than DT2.

Stephen

Thanks Stephen

I guess my main question is once you create a database how do you update it without having to recreate it or type it into the database using the get info option?

Roger

Sorry, I’m finding your post somewhat difficult to understand. What I think you are saying is that you:

• have a database
  • the database contains a photo
  • you change the metadata of that photo using an external app
  • DT does not update its search index to include the changes to the metadata

If I understand you correctly, then you are saying that the photo is indexed (i.e. stored outside the database) rather than imported.

I have just tried to recreate the situation I think you are describing; on adding a keyword to the metadata of an indexed photo using Preview, that change is instantly reflected in DT3; search finds that photo based on a search for the keyword.

I cannot comment in DT2, other than to say that it is long out of development, and that you would probably be best advised to update to DT3. Perhaps you could test just adding a keyword using Preview as I have done - just to see whether my test is a suitable representation of what you have done.