iOS Workflow Question

Hi everyone. This is my first post. I am fairly new to DEVONthink, but it’s quickly become indispensable to my work. I prefer to save web articles as PDFs in my database. However, I’ve not found a suitable workflow on iOS. What I’m currently doing is saving the web archive when I am on iOS and then going to my Mac and saving the article again as a PDF. I would like to skip this step.

I can get the pdf into DEVONthink To Go, but there are some problems with it. For one, the url is not saved when I use the “print” function and send the article to DEVON. In addition, the embedded clickable links no longer work. Creating the PDF on the Mac fixes both of these issues, but I can’t seem to find a way to do it on iOS.

Please note, I’m using the “print to PDF” as the web clipper does not allow me to save from the “reader view” on iOS Safari. The reader view is essential to me as I don’t want all the web ads in my database. I’ve even tried sending the article to Instapaper and getting it into DEVONthink from there, but that isn’t satisfactory either. Am I missing something?

Thanks. Doty

Welcome to the forums!

iOS ≠ macOS, so they don’t function the same in many ways.

Why are you saving a web archive then converting it to a PDF?

Reader View is smoke and mirrors, so it doesn’t behave as a standard URL does for clipping. Have you tried the Clutter-free option?

I realize this, of course. But it seems there should be a way to do what I’m trying to do, even if it involves an externally created workflow.

If I’m on my Mac, I don’t do this, but when I am on iOS I can’t seem to find a way to save to PDF and retain the functionality I need. On iOS, I save as a web archive or bookmark so I have that article saved. But in general, I want to be able to markup my research. Web archive does not allow for highlighting and there are other limitations.