Is Devonthink Pro more power than I need (user scenario)

Hi everyone,

I’m a newbie to Mac, to Devonthink, and to this forum. I thought maybe you could help me understand some things about the usefulness of Devonthink Pro.

I’ve downloaded a trial, and I have created a few databases to play with. I really like how the system allows me to file things in hierarchies. I don’t have enough information in the databases yet to fully understand the usefulness of “See Also,” but I think I see its potential.

I’ve tried Yojimbo (nice interface, no hierarchies), EagleFiler (buggy), and Together (buggy). I like the simplicity of those programs because I am a Mac newbie, but I like the power of Devonthink. I’m just not sure I need all that power or can use it effectively

I am a professor of Old Testament and Hebrew. I do research and writing (though actually getting anything published is another matter). I have a school email account and a couple of private email accounts. My office is a mess–I’m a piler rather than a filer. I need a place to put things, though I’m not sure I’m enough of a “power user” type that I would really need to get Devonpro Office. Plus, everything at my office is PC based. I’ve purchased Circus Ponies Notebook for research, but I’m not sure it’s what I want for storing documents.

Okay, so that’s the (overly long) gist. I guess I’m struggling with whether or not I need something as powerful Devonthink Pro. Any suggestions would be welcomed.

Susan

You’re unlikely to ever outgrow DevonThink. You easily could outgrow the other programs you mention.

FWIW, in less than two years I’ve accumulated nearly a gigabyte of material in two different DT databases. My databases aren’t particularly large by DT standards, but I’m pretty sure that amount of material would eat Yojimbo for breakfast. (Haven’t tried the other programs you mention.)