Is import mail one time or recurring?

I’m new to using the import mail feature in DTP. I have a few questions.

1. Is this a one time import, or is it a recurring functionality you setup once?
  2. Does it require the associated mail client to be open; especially if recurring.
  3. Does it import attachments? How will it handle references to Google Docs that are “attached” to the emails?
  4. Does it work at all with the Gmail web client? (I think no, but it can’t hurt to ask, right?).

Thanks!

1. There is no automatic email importing. You can run an Archive Email in the import sidebar more than once and only new emails will be added.
    You could also check out Apple Mail Rules.
  2. Yes.
  3. Not as separate items.
    There is a script in the menu bar script menu in Apple Mail that allows that kind of import.
    Google docs should just appear as links.
  4. No. The web interface is not a proper email client for this kind of interaction.

This is probably me, but the concepts Import and Archive have confused me up until this day. There seems to be considerable overlap and redundancy in their functions, but I might misinterpret their intend.

Not that it bothers me very much in daily life, as I archive a mailbox and have Apple Mail run rules to push them into DT from then on.

Nevertheless might I give into consideration to combine them in some way or clearing up the difference between the two?

Have you checked out the Help > Documentation > In & Out > Archiving Email section?

Thank you! Just to clarify, attachments are imported WITH the mail message?

You’re welcome and yes, though not separately from the email.

Have you checked out the Help > Documentation > In & Out > Archiving Email section?

Yup, I’ve read through that multiple times and keep going back once in a while if a device fails or needs to be reinstalled.