Issue with movie size and zoom feature

I am attempting to import movies, avi, mov, etc. into DEVONthink. Unlike what happens with .jpgs and other images, the movie is displayed greatly zoomed and there is no way to change that. All of the zoom selections are grayed out except for ‘actual size’ and nothing at all happens when I try to select it. It makes the movie huge and distorted. For example, one movie was enlarged to 247% of its normal size.

If I copy movies into an RTF file, it shows up and is playable until I leave the file. When I come back to it, the movie is not longer there and I have a link, which is not what I’m trying to do.

So I’m not sure how to make this work. I’ve looked through the documenation, and I have only found one other post that asks about this issue. There were no responses, so I have no idea what to do.

I’m totally new to this program, so I apologize if I am missing something obvoius. Any suuggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Alex W.

Alex:

I replicated your experiences in DT PE 1.9.2. Linked or imported movies do display at a magnified size, and cannot be made smaller. That would seem to be a bug.

Then I created a new RTF file and dragged a movie into it. DEVONthink PE displayed an alert message, asking whether I really wanted to copy the movie or just make an alias to it. I selected ‘copy’. After closing that file and upon returning to it, only an icon of the movie was displayed. Then I created a second new RTF file and dragged the movie onto it. This time, when DT put up an alert message, I told it to create an alias to the movie. That works well. A playable image of the movie remains in the RFT file, even after quitting it and returning to it. (This behavior makes sense. Why would I want to physically embed a 39 MB movie into an RTF file?)