Items disappearing on slow WiFi

I’ve been using DEVONthink on my Mac for a few months. Just got an iPad this week and installed DTTG. Throughout the day I’ve been browsing the web on my iPad and adding web pages to a DEVONthink database. Meanwhile I’ve had my computer running with DEVONthink open. But the wifi is very slow at home. It sometimes takes a very long time to sync.

When I checked my computer after adding many items to DEVONthink on my iPad, i was disappointed to realize the items I added with my iPad had vanished. They aren’t appearing in my inbox or my database or the trash on either my iPad or my Mac. They’re gone without a trace, it seems.

It might be worth noting that I’ve been adding these web items to DTTG by clicking the ‘share’ icon on my browser then choosing DTTG from the list of apps. I usually select Markdown (clutter-free) as the format. After the first few times I added items in this manner, I would open DTTG to check that they had successfully been added to the database. But after repeating this process a couple times, I became comfortable enough that I stopped checking DTTG to confirm that it was added successfully. I would add an item to DTTG from the browser’s share sheet and then carry on my business without leaving the browser to check that it had been added successfully to DEVONthink. Could that explain why the items I added disappeared?

1. Have all the records disappeared, so including those which you can be quite sure were actually in DTTG?
  2. Have you got any smart rules active in DT on the Mac which might be handling these records?
  3. Have records which were not clipped as clutter free disappeared too?
  4. How are you syncing?
  5. Have you tried using search in DT on the Mac to locate any of these records?
  6. And, because Jim will ask, is anything reported in the log in DT/DTTG?

Thanks for taking the time to help me deal with this, @Blanc.